Dollar Daze – Cap’n Crunch?!?

18 Feb

dollar daze logo

You’ve seen before that most of the cereal at Dollar Tree are cheap knock-offs of national brands. Questionably tasting, vaguely chemical knock-offs of national brands. But they do have the real stuff too. Exhibit A: Cap’n Crunch Crunch Berries!

Once again, my Able Assistant Andrea® is helping me.

Please note the size of the box. That is a full 4.4 ounces. Just for the sake of comparison, I did buy a full sized box of Capt’n Crunch at Target so you could see how big this box is.

“I’ll call him Mini Me.”

For a dollar, that’s still a pretty good deal, amirite? Being the naturally curious person I am, I did the math. Which tells you how curious I really was, because I never willingly do math unless I have to. Or I’m really curious. Which I was.

So the 4.4 ounce box of Cap’n Crunch was $1.00. That means that this box of Cap’n Crunch runs about $.227 per ounce. For a box of cereal, 23¢ is not bad.

Au contraire, mon frere.

The full sized box of Cap’n Crunch is 18.7 ounces. That box cost $3.23. Which means I’m only paying $.172 per ounce for Mr. Big. So purchasing a regular, normal sized box of cereal, I’m actually saving 6¢ per ounce for my Crunch Berries.

Dollar Tree, I am disappoint.

In terms of savings, it’s better to just get a full box. And if your family eats cereal like my family does, a 4.4 ounce box is a freaking snack.

Case in point…

BUT…I would still buy an occasional Dollar Tree store box of Crunch Berries. Why?

Don’t mind the photobombing cat. She does that a lot. Attention whore.

BECAUSE IT’S SO FREAKING CUTE! Like, omigod! Seriously. It’s like a chibi box of cereal. How can you not love that? So I’ll let it go this time, Dollar Tree. Even though your bargain deal isn’t really a bargain, I’ll forgive you this just for the sheer adorableness of that package. So I’ll give it a win this time. But you’re still better off getting your Crunch Berries at a regular store.

4 Responses to “Dollar Daze – Cap’n Crunch?!?”

  1. Stacey February 18, 2013 at 9:10 pm #

    My son goes through a family-sized box of cereal in 3 days…that tiny box would be gone in 2 minutes. But it’s so wee, it’s cute!

    • blissflower1969 February 19, 2013 at 9:46 am #

      I think the tiny box was gone within half an hour. But totes adorbs!

      Can you believe I just said that? Besides, being from Minnesota I should be saying “Ohfercute!”

  2. Carrie - Cannibalistic Nerd February 22, 2013 at 5:26 pm #

    I hate to admit how often something being cute takes my money.

Thoughts? Comments? Randomness? Leave it here

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 254 other followers

